a heart of worship

I love rainy days when I don’t have to go anywhere! Yesterday, I was running around all day long, but today I’m working from home! I usually have music in the background when I edit, but not when it’s raining! I love hearing the sound of the rain! It’s the perfect background… and might I add, goes nicely with a cup of coffee or hot tea 🙂

It’s been a while since I’ve written some of thoughts and the things I am learning. So, I just wanted to take a few minutes and write about having a heart for worship (worship of the triune God- Father, Son, and Holy Spirit). This week I have been preparing to lead worship for a women’s conference this weekend. As I have been preparing, the Lord has been moving in my own heart as I pray He will in the lives of the women this weekend.

As I was deciding which songs to pick, my desire in worship was to sing songs that are centered on Christ and the gospel; to really focus on WHO God is, what He has done through the gospel, and what our appropriate response to Him is- both in worship through song and with our lives. As we’ll be hearing about our purpose in life and then about being equipped to live life in a way that honors God, I think it is appropriate to focus our hearts on the One who has created us, saved us, and given us a purpose, the One who can equip us to live our lives for Him.

Yesterday, as I was practicing the songs, I was completely overwhelmed with the goodness and grace of God! I am a sinner and deserve punishment; but through the love of the Father, and the death of Christ, sin and death were defeated! I have been completely forgiven, and completely made new. In the same moment I found myself heartbroken over my sinfulness and overjoyed at the love and grace of God who has saved me completely from my sins! The truths of the gospel and character of my God should be changing the way I think and live every day- should be fueling me, so that my life is filled with joy in knowing Christ and sharing His goodness with those who do not know Him. But I so often forget to focus on the gospel and my great God, and I live self-focused and without joy. I know and believe the gospel, but ironically, I so often forget it! So, I want to recommit to focusing my mind and heart on Christ and the gospel- and I believe this will be fuel for my heart to worship!

gold shimmer_text

Leave a comment

Filed under thoughts

Leave a Reply

