the steady tread

I’ve been very encouraged this week by some thoughts on Luke 21.34-48. In N.T. Wrights’s commentary of this passage, he reflects on Christianity a generation after Jesus said the words of these verses, and then our own generation. Here’s what he says-

“The answer is the same for us as it was for the Jerusalem Christians nearly a generation after Jesus. Keep alert. This is what you were told to expect. Patience is the key. Pray for strength to keep on your feet. There are times when your eyes will be shutting with tiredness, spiritual, mental, emotional and physical, and when you will have to prop them open. This is what it’s about: not an exciting battle, with adrenalin flowing and banners flying, but the steady tread, of prayer and hope and scripture and sacrament and witness, day by day and week by week. This is what counts; this is why  patience is a fruit of the Spirit. Read the story again. Remind one another of what Jesus said. and keep awake.”

Whether I experience a difficulty today, or just the daily grind of life, I am encouraged to persevere, to be patient, to be on guard, to engage in ‘the steady tread’ of a life of obedience, faith, and hope. I am encouraged to breathe in the truths of the scriptures and then live them out in my day and to others. I am encouraged to pray. I am encouraged to hope in the day when Christ returns and all is made right, when we are tired no more.

green-swirl-texture-large-text2

4 Comments

Filed under thoughts

4 responses to “the steady tread

  1. melissa pearce

    great great stuff. very encouraging.

  2. it’s exactly what I needed to read at 4:12 this morning. My throat is killing me but I’m finding instead of laying in bed and hurting it’s nice to turn on some worship and catch up on some blogs. It’s so nice to be encouraged by this. I can even hear you saying this and how you often are faithful in the day to day but I know it’s not easy and comes from your roots in scripture! I love you and I’m so thankful for your faithfulness even in the littlest things.

  3. Thank-You for this reminder. You are a wonderful wife and an amazing blessing!

  4. lizbird1024

    Angey, this is the very thing I needed to read before our counseling session tonight. I am guilty of being so spiritually tired that I want to avoid any discussion of God or any conflict where I might be faced with God’s truth. This is when the enemy attacks and often, I’ve found, when God works the hardest…not when we are alert but when we are just about to fall asleep. Love you!

Leave a Reply

