getting settled

After traveling for the holidays to visit both of our families, then coming home to finish packing and move into our new home, we’re finally getting settled in. Unpacking has been a process (which we’re not completely done with), but it has been very enjoyable to make this place feel like our home. From the first evening we were in our new house, it felt like home to us. This is such a blessing for me. I had doubts about the bliss of a new home, fearful that we would miss all the space we had in our last place. But other than a couple very small things, I haven’t missed anything about our previous home. We went back to clean it after we had moved out, and it just felt like a big, empty space. I wasn’t attached to it at all anymore. I realized then that so much of a place is what you make it. The more we get our stuff unpacked and arranged how we like it, the more personal touches we add to the space, and everyday that the two of us live here together, the more we love our home. Though our possessions and our house are just things and are not amazingly valuable in light of eternal things, there is something special about a home- I’m not talking about renting vs. owning or a house vs. and apartment- but that space which has been provided for you to live in with those you love. This has been provided for me, yet at the same time I have been given responsibility to take care of it, to make it comfortable and inviting, to be a place of rest and peace, of joy and good times, of love and service.

img_3020

5 Comments

Filed under life happenings, thoughts

5 responses to “getting settled

  1. lizbird1024

    You’re SO right. After moving a few times in the past year, I have come to realize that any dwelling can be made a home. And while I (unlike you) DO miss lots of different things about each home, it doesn’t make where I live now any less of one : )

  2. Eliska

    Wow, this is great, Angey! Can’t wait to see more pictures. I’m glad to hear that it already feels like home. When we moved to our current house, it took me a few months to start feel like MY home. But now I can’t imagine living somewhere else. I really hope you’ll both love the place.

    Love, Eliska

  3. can’t wait to come see it soon! invite me anytime. 😉

  4. great post. I love your new home. I can’t wait for all the memories that are yet to be made there.

    Love you.
    Casey

  5. Myrna Salmon

    I wish I could be there, not just see a picture, although the picture is so pretty, you are what makes your new home a home! YOU are so special! ILY

Leave a Reply

