in the Light

“This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. If we say we have fellowship with him while we walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin. If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.” -1 John 1.5-7

I was very encouraged this week by these words from the book Peacemaking Women (p 213)-

“Walking in the light doesn’t require perfect living, but it does require truthful living. It is a rich concept that includes, among other things, a penetrating honesty about our imperfection. Light dispels darkness, and walking in the light allows us to see and honestly acknowledge the truth about ourselves. In fact, seeing our own sin can be comforting because we know that only the light of God reveals it. When we try to deny our sinfulness, we deceive others and ourselves. By walking in the light- and dealing with our sin through genuine confession- we experience the sweetness of fellowship with God and others. As John reminds us, ‘If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness’ (1 John 1.9).”

Though I can’t say I am comforted be the thought of my sin,  I am comforted by the thought that the Christian life does not equate to a perfect life, and that I don’t have to hide my weaknesses or my imperfections. But rather God is working in my life to dispel the darkness of the sin within and make me more like Christ.

I am comforted that He has ultimately dealt with my sin. As the hymn says- “My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought- my sin, not in part, but the whole, was nailed to the tree and I bear it no more. Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord, oh my soul!” It is truly a glorious thought to know that my sin has been dealt with, and I can walk in the light- living this life in the truth of the gospel- waiting in hope for the day when all sin and darkness will be dealt with forever.

The city does not need the sun or the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gives it light, and the Lamb is its lamp. The nations will walk by its light, and the kings of the earth will bring their splendor into it. On no day will its gates ever be shut, for there will be no night there. The glory and honor of the nations will be brought into it.” -Revelation 21.23-26

2 Comments

Filed under thoughts

2 responses to “in the Light

  1. Myrna Salmon

    hey, ang, our interim pastor preached about being transparent and much of what you say here is what he talked about. WE need to be salt and light in a dark world, in our local church body, in our homes, jobs, etc. Some of us don’t really understand confession because that verse says 2 things will happen. If I had true confession about some sin in my life, then why is it still in my life.

  2. Liz

    I should definitely read that book. I, too, am comforted that He has dealt with my sin. I know all my sins have yet to be revealed to me, but I have found that the Lord uses the most unlikely sources to uncover layers of sin. And I, for one, cannot wait to go to the city that has no night or day…only the light and presence of God….where everything is perfect all the time. What a rest that will be!

Leave a Reply

