Good Friday — Happy Birthday Wesley

photo-7.jpg photo-7.jpg photo-7.jpg photo-7.jpg photo-7.jpg
Two very important things going on today– It’s Good Friday & It’s my husband, Wesley’s birthday. I am very grateful for both of these events and the people that make them significant. Wesley is a wonderful husband and a gift from God, and I am excited to celebrate another birthday with him. I am so grateful for his love and leadership in my life. HAPPY BIRTHDAY WESLEY!!!!

I am also grateful for the love of Christ. As we get ready to celebrate the Resurrection of Christ this Easter Sunday, we cannot forget his death on the cross. In love, Christ exchanged His life for ours, bearing our sin so that we could be free from it’s terrible effects and live in the hope of the resurrection that we will one day share with Him.

So, I thought it would be fitting to post a writing that my husband wrote for our Good Friday Service at church tonight. I hope you are blessed by reading it.

Expiation: The Best, Worst Trade

-by Wesley Price
I made a bad trade once – a really bad trade. I traded a saxophone – one that my parents paid hundreds of dollars for – for an electric guitar amplifier. It was big and loud and impressive looking, but it was a bad trade. The value of the big, loud amplifier was nothing to the value of the saxophone, and my parents’ hard-earned monetary investment was totally devalued upon the finalization of the trade. To make matters worse, eventually I traded that amp for another…and another…and another. That was nearly twenty years ago, but I still look back at it and remember it as the worst trade ever.
It makes me wonder about the grace of God. In I Peter 2, the scriptures tell us that Jesus “bore our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, having died to sins might live for righteousness.” Now that, to me, is a bad trade. Think of the investment – the Much-Loved Son, the rightful king and ruler over God’s entire creation, Jesus, the sinless Messiah. Then, think about the object of the trade – me, a rebel, a hostile, a foreigner to the covenant and an outsider to the grace of God that came from Abraham through the sons of Israel; me, inimical, angry, spiteful, unworthy – a kid who doesn’t even know a good deal when he sees one! To me this is a raw deal – not for me, I get to live and live for righteousness, but for God!
But oh the Love of God in Jesus Christ! God’s wisdom and mercy found a way to make a trade that would be good for both parties – never in equal measure – but in the fact that his grace brings him glory. Christ’s sacrifice benefits me most but does not make God a fool. You see, God’s trade is nothing like my terrible trade. I squandered my father’s investment. Jesus is making his Father’s investment pay rich dividends, both for us and for his namesake. I have lost all the value of the saxophone that I foolishly traded. But the grace of God through Jesus obtains value in every age and, in the endless ages to come, the exchange of my sin for Christ’s death will bring immeasurable value to the honor due the name of Jesus. This is the beautiful paradox of expiation: through an unfair exchange, I have peace with God, and he receives immeasurable glory for his grace!
Oh, the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are His judgments and His ways past finding out! “For who has known the mind of the Lord? Or who has become His counselor?” “Or who has first given to Him And it shall be repaid to him?” For of Him and through Him and to Him are all things, to whom be glory forever. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under life happenings

Leave a Reply

